Control Terminal Points to be established in Lake Mainit

Johny S. Natad

On the meeting conducted last January 19, 2010 by the Sustainable Fishery Management Team composed of LMDA, FMC Secretariat and the Sangguniang Bayan Chairperson on Agriculture along with the Municipal Agriculturists who represents the municipality of Mainit, Alegria, Kitcharao and Jabonga unanimously agreed to include the designation of the control terminal points (CTP) in the Unified Fishery Ordinance.  

LGU of Jabonga and Kitcharao with LMDA during the mapping of CTP

As has been known that LMDA facilitated the unification of fishery ordinance in four Lake Mainit municipalities. Final copies of the said ordinance entitled “A Unified Municipal Fisheries Ordinance providing for the Sustainable Integrated Management, Development and Conservation of the Lake Mainit Municipal Waters and its Fishery & Aquatic Resources, Harmonizing, and Integrating All Ordinances Pertinent hereto, and For Other Purposes” has been furnished to Sangguniang Bayan of Jabonga, Kitcharao, Alegria and Mainit for their adoption.

Section 6 of the said ordinance is the “designated control terminal point” which states that the “The municipal government shall coordinate with other local government units within the Lake Mainit to designate and establish a control terminal point between the adjacent municipalities for the management, monitoring and implementation of this ordinance. The control terminal point and the lines will mark the technical description of the municipal waters of Mainit. The said control terminal point and the lines described above shall not be considered political boundary but for purposes of integrated management of the Lake.”
[rockyou id=156286395&w=500&h=166]  [Photos during the CTP Mapping held at Barangay A.Beltran, Jabonga, Agusan del Norte]

Meanwhile, the LGU of Kitcharao and Jabonga last January 22, 2010 conducted a meeting and field verification mapping for CTP. The LGU of Jabonga represented by SB Member Wempredo S. Maldo, SB Member Carlos Ongue, Municipal Agriculturist Sahibbon B. Julasuri, Agriculture Technician Rolly O. Carsula and Barangay Captain of A. Beltran Hon. Rolando Ongue and the LGU of Kitcharao represented by MPDC Planning Officer Roberto R. Calubag, Jr., Agriculture Technician Flor Galo and Barangay Captain of Bangayan Hon. Nonito V. Senonis with the presence of LMDA Director Kaiser B. Recabo, Jr. and Omar C. Barillo agreed that CTP is designated at north 09°22’39.6” and east 125°33’25.6” which is situated between Barangay Bangayan and Barangay A. Beltran.

The CTP between Mainit and Alegria was already been agreed by both municipalities last year while the CTP between Mainit and Jabonga and between Alegria and Kitcharao will be finalized soon. (JSN)

 Back to top 






Lake Mainit









Contact Us



Comments are closed.